top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoe Wood

I Sit and I Chew - 2nd Draft

A short story expanding the world of my current project - A Vision of Horror, a short film about family.

I'm not used to writing stories, so if you like it, great! if not, there's always a third draft.


I Sit and I Chew


October 1st -

For the first time in a long time, I missed my first appointment of the day. 9 am, I had booked in to see Mr Shaw - on account of him having some rather interesting documents the bank would very much like to see - but to my horror, after getting out of bed for my morning sojourn to the local bakery, I found it to be already 8:50! Usually, I sleep as if drifting along a calm river, but last night something must've gone awfully wrong.

I have rescheduled to see Mr Shaw in two weeks time, hopefully, he can forgive me.


October 2nd -

What I had hoped to be a one-off bad night's sleep, has unfortunately turned into two, causing me to completely miss out on the very delicious - and equally as limited - pastel de nata’s Mrs Hayes lovingly crafts each morning.

Only this night, I heard what was keeping me up. A small knocking sound. It faded in and out as I too faded in and out of consciousness. I haven't the foggiest idea of where it came from, but then again I only have a very dazed memory of it late at night. I've never been known to burn the midnight oil, I prefer an early rise.

I have asked my neighbours if any construction has taken place, but I fear there hasn't. I will have to listen closely if it wakes me this night.


October 3rd -

A third night. It was no construction I can assure you that. The sound has a certain personal nature to it as if meant for me. How could this be?

For hours through the night the knocking continued, no sign of where it is coming from, I begin to think my mind is not as young as it used to be.

The lack of sleep has already begun to change my daily routine. I am late for meetings, snap back at people who do not deserve such rudeness. So quick has this small noise completely changed my life.


October 4th -

Usually, it is gone by morning, but I still heard it as my day progressed. A knocking inside my head, like something trying to get out. I have been to make an appointment with Dr Fletcher, only for him to be away until the 9th. If this noise continues to grow, it may be too late.


October 5th -

For days now I have heard that incessant knocking. A tiny hammer at my ears for hours on end. I have not slept a wink, I worry that I may never sleep again. I do not know what I shall do on Monday, as I tried to leave the house today to clear my mind, but the closer I get to leaving, the harder it knocks. It wants me here, what must I do to ease this torment?

I am drawn to the floorboards under my bed, an energy I have not felt before emanates from below. Tonight I sleep downstairs by the safety of the fire. Tomorrow I will dare to find the source.


October 6th -

I am not safe anywhere. The fire speaks to me. I am unsure of what language it speaks, but I am sure it wants me to hear.

The knocking only got louder with the flame, I had to put it out. I feel I have heard the voice of the other side. It is not welcome in my home.

So loud, so painful. With the fire out it has only knocking to get my attention, which it has focused all its unearthly power on. It hurts to be. I could not hear anything but the knocking inside my head.


Blood drips down my face and hands from scratching at my ears. I want it to stop. I want to leave my house. I will do anything.


(Date illegible)

Knock, knock, knock.


As I write, I sit and I chew the flesh beneath my fingernails in hopes that it is my own suffering that will end this horror that I live.


Knock, knock, knock.


The pain is excruciating, it only gets worse as I near my room, but I must.

I scream so loud as I traverse the hallway on hands and knees, all energy taken by the pain. As I near the door to my room, I feel my body begin to decay, my nails coming off in the floorboards as I crawl. I opened the door to the room so normal in sight, you could not imagine the horrors coming from within. From my low position, I see a medium metal box under the bed, something I have no memory of. I crawl forward, my vision a blurry red, the taste of iron hits my lips.

Grabbing the box, I know this is the source. Pulling it from under the bed lets out a screech I can only guess to be the thing from the fire.


Knock, knock, knock.


I open the box, and everything is quiet. I hear no knocking. I feel no pain. The box contains a strangely bound book, a leather I have never seen before.

I place the book on my desk, and sleep, for the first time in a while, like a baby.

__________________________________________________________________


Case File 001846A

Evidence - 00A1

Detective Leigh

Notes: Along with Evidence 00A2, the strangely bound book, nothing else of note was found at the scene. With the whole house being burnt to ash, there was no sign of a body and no evidence anywhere near the location of escape. As of yet, no arrests have been made.


26 views0 comments
bottom of page